Limited liability companies are popular in the US because, unlike other legal entities, LLCs have the strongest asset protection and tax advantages for entrepreneurs. You can easily start your LLC without putting your assets in danger or worrying about hefty taxes.
You can get more benefits from your LLC if you choose the right primary location to incorporate your business in. For example, you get an even stronger corporate veil if you form your LLC in Nevada.
The Sagebrush state is famous for having the strongest asset protections in the country. Nevada laws protect your personal assets should anyone decide to sue your LLC. Additionally, the state has no formal information-sharing agreement with the IRS, so LLC owners can stay anonymous as long as they want.
If these features matter to you, consider starting an LLC in Nevada. Find out everything you need about Nevada’s filing fees for LLCs through this guide.
How Much Are The LLC Fees in Nevada?
When starting an LLC in Nevada, you must pay the filing, annual report, and registered agent fees.
Nevada’s filing fee for forming LLCs starts at $330, which includes the costs for filing the following documents:
Articles of Organization
Nevada Initial List
State Business License
Before you can get your $200 state business license, you must pay $75 to $150 to file your Articles of Organization and your initial list of members. If you want to expedite the filing process, these fees can even cost up to $589.
The Secretary of State offers express services ranging from $125 for 24-hour filing to $1000 for 1-hour filing. They will also charge you $30 for an additional certified copy of your documents.
Nevada also requires all LLCs to have a registered agent. A registered agent is designated to receive all of your company’s legal notices and documents. The state requires one to ensure proper service of the process even if you don’t reside in Nevada.
Typically, you can assign an employee as your registered agent or hire one living within the state. You have to register your agent and pay a fee of $60.
The state also requires your LLC to file annual reports, including your members’ list and business license. These documents come with a filing fee of $150 and $200, respectively.
It’s worth noting that these numbers are based on Nevada’s 2022 rates. The state’s filing fees could change anytime, so we recommend you make it a habit to check for any significant adjustments.
Other Important Fees to Keep in Mind
Aside from Nevada’s LLC filing fees, there are other costs and charges you may want to keep in mind, such as the following:
Nevada is strict when it comes to business names. Your LLC can’t share the same name with another startup. You can avoid this issue by reserving the name of your LLC in advance.
The state has a Nevada Name Reservation form you can file for $25. Once you apply, the state will reserve your name for 90 days. Take note that Nevada will only reserve names that are still available for use. You can check the Business Search Database of Nevada to check if your choice of name is being used by anyone.
Doing Business As Registration
A “Doing Business As” (DBA) certificate allows your LLC to operate under another name besides your legal name. The filing fee for a DBA registration varies, but it only costs you $25 to get a Certificate of Fictitious Business Name in Nevada.
If you plan on using a different name for your LLC, we suggest you get a DBA certificate before anything else.
Foreign LLC Registration
Foreign LLCs are startups formed outside of Nevada. Suppose you have an existing company in California and want to expand your operations to Nevada. In that case, you must register your foreign LLC with the Secretary of the State.
You must complete an Application for Registration of A Foreign Limited Liability Company and submit it to the Secretary of the State’s website for $75.
Certificate of Good Standing
A certificate of good standing proves that your business is legally and properly maintained in Nevada. While LLCs are not required to get one, the certificate does come with a few benefits.
For instance, the certificate allows you to do business in another state. If you plan to expand the operations of your LLC in Nevada, having a certificate of good standing is beneficial, as it makes it easier for LLCs to connect with investors.
Investing in Nevada’s $50 CGS could help secure more funding for your LLC in the long run.
Nevada may require you to get other permits to operate, depending on the nature of your LLC. For example, certain professions need special licenses from the state boards that oversee their industry. This includes the following professionals:
Real estate brokers
The cost of a professional permit depends on your profession and the service you offer. Suppose you’re a massage therapist thinking of starting your own company. In that case, you’ll have to pay $480 to get a license from the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy.
Form Your Nevada LLC Today
The state of Nevada has so much to offer to startups and big businesses. Low filing fees for LLCs and affordable tax rates make it the perfect environment for companies to grow and thrive. This is why Nevada is the ideal location to create and start new business ventures, as their taxation and asset protection laws and regulations are more than favorable.
And if you need help forming your LLC, NCH is here to assist you. NCH is one of Nevada’s leading providers of business formation services. Our business specialists are here to guide you through the entire process of starting your own business.
NCH’s package includes the filing fees for all the legal documents mentioned above. With our help, you can rest easy knowing everything is filed properly. To know more about our services, you can visit our website here.